As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Elektron Gear One Shot Trigs in Live Performance (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: One Shot Trigs in Live Performance
Goomba
One Shot Trigs in Live Performance 12 Years, 5 Months ago
Hey everyone. I'm brand new to Elektron gear but have recently bought myself an Octatrack to replace my computer on stage. I'm having an obscene amount of fun with it, but was a little confused about a design decision that I was hoping someone could help me with.

I'm using one shot trigs in patterns to trigger long chunks of atmospheric audio along with my more 'grid-locked' sequenced stuff. One thing I've noticed though ... say on Pattern 1 I have a rhythm on Track 1, a tune on track 2, and then a one-shot trigged chunk of sound on track 3, and then the same for Pattern 2, and then I switch to Pattern 2 while playing Pattern 1, the one-shot won't play. Which is intentional, according to the manual. It says that once you've triggered a one-shot on a Pattern, it disables all one shots on the other patterns too.

I can't quite work out why this would be the case. Does anyone have an idea about how to switch Patterns in live performance and have your one-shots play like normal trigs? At the moment I'm having to switch pattern, then quickly hit 'Yes' to re-arm them in time, and the timing can be tricky.

Thanks!
  The topic has been locked.
Chain Chomp
Re:One Shot Trigs in Live Performance 12 Years, 5 Months ago
Well, hit yes with record button deactivated just before you switch pattern. All one-shot trigs will be enabled and play play in time.
I don't really understand your problem.
Goomba
Sorry if I wasn't clear.