As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Site Suggestions IMPORTANT - FORUM FUTURE (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: IMPORTANT - FORUM FUTURE
Chain Chomp
http://soundcloud.com/pixelife
Re:IMPORTANT - FORUM FUTURE 10 Years, 9 Months ago
Woohoo! Just registered. Looking forward to this new experience.
  The topic has been locked.
Ah, crap. I came here with the intention of getting some information on kitchen remodeling. Didn't know it was an electronical-whatsit site. Oh well, I may as well finish the post I started...

Yes, it's great that Elektron is moving on this.
As an internet veteran, I've been a part of many forums, and the inevitable closing of one is just part of the life-cycle.

As others have said, it's the people that count; if those people move on to the next forum, all should be well.

One important note for Elektron: a modern, but simple implementation will be best. Make it easy to read, sort, and post. Give us multiple RSS feeds for various sections. Avatars are nice, I guess, and signatures. Call me immature, but I like the "Mario"-themed designations (Chain Chomp, Yoshi, etc.).

Oh, one other thing that I loved in the early days was the "Labs" competitions. We had a bunch of them with a number of contestants, but they seemed to dwindle, as time went on. A little, fun competition, once in a while, sponsored by Elektron would certainly be cool!
Cappy
@anyone who is testing/running this: will there be some archive section?
seems I'm not the only one being worried that this well of information and knowledge here will be drained
Cappy
I read somewhere that they would "lock" this forum down to read-only as a means of archiving the great content here.

Big Mistake for 2 reasons: