As of September 23rd elektron-users has been replaced by elektronauts.com. Find out what this means here.
Elektron-Users Elektron Forum Elektron Gear MD compression question? (1 viewing)
Go to bottom Post Reply
TOPIC: MD compression question?
Goomba
MD compression question? 14 Years, 10 Months ago
Hey all!

so far, all you ladies and gents have been fantastic. (actually, are there any ladies anywhere that use this gear? i'd love to meet em!)

my question is this: does everyone agree that the initial factory settings for compression on the uw are a little heavy? also, I'm fairly new to live work, so would it be better to reduce the compression for performance in a small club?

what are the general feelings on the uw compressor?

thanks, you useful bunch!
  The topic has been locked.
Re:MD compression question? 14 Years, 10 Months ago
I use the MD compressor as a musical effect, and not for dynamic controll.
Because of the nature of the sequencing with the MD, there is already full controll over dynamics. You can use p-locks on volume to create dynamics, or you just leave as it is if you want no dynamics.
For me it works better to make the volume of each element fit, than correct this with the compressor.
Regarding the compressor as muscial effect: anything goes as long as it sounds right. I mostly use it as I would use distortion.
Game & Watch
I really didin't get the dynamix at first, quite unlike any other compressor I've used before and the lack of meters doesn't really help.

However as sauna sound said, it is good to use as a further effect rather than for fixing a problem. Keep the attack slow for a nice pump, or slam the crap out of it (low thresh, high ratio) and then severely reduce the wet dry mix, for a gentle fattening.

I quite like the way it works with the reverb and delays, increasing their level as the dry signals fade.
Admin
InnerPortalStudio.com - Specializing in mastering and mixdowns of electronic music.